Graduate academic advising

Home / Academic Advising / Graduate academic advising

Academic advising for graduate programs

The relationship between a faculty advisor and student is important for the success of students in the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts graduate programs.

Graduate advising is managed by the school or department offering the degree program. Current students should contact their faculty advisors with any advising questions. Prospective students are encouraged to discuss their interests with a faculty member prior to applying.

General questions can be addressed to:

School of Art

Jessica Palomo, Graduate coordinator  |  Jessica.Palomo@asu.edu

School of Arts, Media and Engineering

Kayla Elizondo, Education Coordinator  |  Kayla.Elizondo@asu.edu

Todd Ingalls, Assistant Director and Associate Research Professor  |  Todd.Ingalls@asu.edu

The Design School

Christy Brown, Graduate Coordinator  |  Christy.D.Brown@asu.edu

Corie Cisco, Graduate Coordinator Senior  |  Corie.Cisco@asu.edu

School of Music, Dance and Theatre

Dance and theatre graduate students

Rachel Bowditch, Director of Graduate Studies  |  Rachel.Bowditch@asu.edu

Music graduate students
Current graduate students should contact their primary studio professor with any advising questions.

If you are in a non–performance program or if your performance area includes multiple faculty members, contact the following faculty:

Peter Schmelz, Musicology / Ethnomusicology  |  Peter.Schmelz@asu.edu

Marg Schmidt, Music Learning and Teaching Master's Degree  |  Marg.Schmidt@asu.edu

Sandra Stauffer, Music Learning and Teaching Doctoral Degree  |  Sandra.Stauffer@asu.edu

Melita Belgrave, Music Therapy  |  Melita.Belgrave@asu.edu

Jody Rockmaker, Composition  |  Jody.Rockmaker@asu.edu

Hannah Creviston, Piano  |  Hannah.Creviston@asu.edu

Carole Fitzpatrick, Voice (Solo Performance)  |  Carole.Fitzpatrick@asu.edu

Carole Fitzpatrick, Voice (Music Theatre/Opera Performance)  |  Carole.Fitzpatrick@asu.edu

Jonathan Swartz, Violin  |  Swartz@asu.edu